HEALTH AND LIFESTYLE · PERSONAL POSTS · Uncategorized

How I am accepting my difficult skin.

Fucking spots.

I have battled and battled with blackheads, dry skin, oily areas and cystic acne since I was about 13 years old and I’d love for this post to be about how I overcame my problems or to offer cures and solutions for acne-prone skin but it’s not.

I always wanted to be the girl in class who came in with her high pony tail, looking flawless with nothing on my face except a little bit of eyeliner or mascara. Instead, I was the one wearing a lumpy mask of foundation, concealer powder and heavy eyeliner to distract from the mountainous sores on my skin. I had tried every remedy there was too, hot water, ice, toothpaste, green tea, masks made of turmeric, masks made of coffee, skin-purify teas and almost everything else. I had even taken medication too at the age of 14 but after a few months of clarity, I was once again met with a familiar (spotty) face.
Even at the age of 19, despite daily skin washing rituals, gallons of tea tree oil and moisturising mayhem, I am still plagued with little itchy, sore blemishes.

18869792_783516341814290_1952709656_o

But you know what? I’m cool with it.
After taking a step back from my own hyper-self-awareness, I realised that no-one was looking and if they were looking, they didn’t care. Why would they? I can probably count the times on one hand that might have noticed someone else’s skin, and even then I never even gave it a second look or thought. So why would I be any different.
I also began noticing all of the times where I have probably exposed my skin to others without even noticing such as at the beach, festivals or a hot day where my makeup may have run off my face.
The me from 2 years ago would wake up before everyone else to ensure that I could quickly slap on some concealer or something and frantically put some makeup on as quietly as I could before my partner would wake up in the morning but now I couldn’t be less bothered about the little red amigos on my cheeks and chin.

Okay, well sure. I still do the face mask thing and sooth sore blemishes with tea tree oil. and of course I still moisturise, I’m not completely careless, but now I consider “good skin” to be about my perspective of myself.

Acne and spots do not warp your face or make you ugly by any means.
Accept that, just like a bad hair day, unshaved legs or wrinkles, these flaws are all part of yourself. They can be remedied, by all means, but they do not define you.

This was a short one but just wanted to share this little pimple of “wisdom”.

 

7 thoughts on “How I am accepting my difficult skin.

    1. Thank you so very much. I have followed you back- great content!

      I think it’s such an easy thing to get down about but it’s really just all about appreciation of all your other assets and acceptance of these little flaws! (Also I agree- LUSH is an all time fav of mine!!)

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Great post!! What I would recommend is maybe visit a dermatologist. I’ve heard many people try everything and nothing works but then they go see a dermatologist and get a special kind of cream that they make specifically for the condition.

    Would love it if you would check out my blog aestheticvogue.com 💖💖

    Like

  2. Yep, it’s hard, I think it’s a different kind of hard, even, for people who have recurring on again/off again skin issues. It can be overcome. It takes committment and mindfulness about all factors and what we’re exposed to on a daily basis.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! I suppose it’s all about routine and being kind to yourself. I find that my skin is worse when I’m stressed, even when I’m exposed to those bad news stories., so the less you’re actually stressing about your skin the better your skin becomes, right? I thinks it’s important to look at yourself in the mirror every day and think “Well, this is just how my skin is, and it won’t look like this forever.” ❤️

      Like

Leave a Reply

